Holy Moly!

I feel like such a neglectful blogger!  I’ve thought so much about things I could write about but when I found the time to sit down and just chill there was no blogging happening…only Netflix binging.  For that, I’m sorry.  My apologies are going to fall on deaf ears here soon (or would it be blind eyes?) because I apologize so often for my lapse in posting!

Anyway, I was doing great with my weight loss, I hit 30 pounds down!  Then winter came and I couldn’t walk after work because it was dark out and I’ve plateaued so with spring coming I’m excited to get back on my kick!

Work is something to post about – in September (see?  Shortly after my last post..I got busy!) I officially opened up my own business!  I now own a legal daycare and man, it’s more than I expected.  I’ve always been a very hands-on caregiver, but now there’s tons of paperwork that comes along with the legal part of it and I just feel like I have no me time anymore, you know?

I’m in the process of filing my taxes (yeah, fun times!) and I had to find an actual accountant for this journey because in-home daycares have so many different write-offs and formulas for the percentage of the house used, etc. that it’s just impossible for me to do this myself (sucking at math doesn’t help me either) and I can use part of my car repairs as a write off since I do use my car for the business.  Well I had some major work done in July and I needed a copy of that receipt for my accountant, but the dealership couldn’t email it to me!  They could fax it to me but I don’t have a fax, so they suggested me driving over…yeah…with three toddlers in the pouring rain, 40 minutes one way just to unload all of them in that pouring rain for a piece of paper.  No thank you.  So instead I called my mom (who is in NY…I’m in VA) to see if they could fax it to her at work and then she could scan it and email it to me (all of this because I don’t want to drive over lol) so I could send it to my accountant.  So mom is on board, I call the dealership to give them the fax, and they figured out how to email it to me.  Insert blank stare.  You have no idea how frazzled I was about getting this invoice by a certain time.  So long (probably boring) story short, I got it, it’s uploaded for my accountant, and I didn’t have to brave the rain with three tots in tow.  I call that a win in my book.

What is not a win, though, is sick toddlers.  Seriously.  If your child has a cold and doesn’t feel well I can assure you they do NOT want to play with their friends, they want to be with their mom/dad because that’s where they feel the safest and most loved.  Plus, when you insist that they’re fine then their germs are spread to all of the other kids that they’re around and those kids get sick.  It’s a vicious cycle.

I may or may not be feeling some sort of way about this right now.

You know what else I’m having feelings about?  Friends.

I have two people I talk to on a regular basis, just two, and the closest one is two hours away.  Still no friends here locally because any time I chat somebody up and think we might be chummy, they find out I do daycare and I just become a babysitter to them (btw…daycare vs. babysitter is very different!), or they find out I’m atheist and suddenly they think I’m going to sacrifice their child so they avoid me.  Ooorrrr the worst one, they try to sell me things!

What happened to just being friends?  Why do I have to buy your wraps or leggings or shakes or lip stick or nail stickers?  Can’t we just drink coffee (Maxwell House is fine) in our sweat pants (the $5 ones from Walmart) and talk about life?  I miss those days.

I’m ending on that note because my child just fell asleep, a very rare thing in the middle of the day, and I’m going to watch TV and fold laundry!

Till next time my neglected readers ❤

 

Leave a Reply

